Globally aare - Locally relevant
National Press Club Become a member

Percy Qoboza memorial lecture

The fourth annual Percy Qoboza memorial lecture was held on Sunday, 19 October. The lecture commemorates 19 October 1977 when the apartheid regime declared illegal 19 Black Consciousness organisations, banned two newspapers and detained scores of activists.

View the photographs

Journalist of the Year announced

The winners in the National Press Club-North-West University Journalist of the Year competition were announced on 29 May 2014 at the Newsmaker of the Year awards event. For the first time in the history of the competition, the overall winner was a television cameraperson, the late Dudley Saunders of Carte Blanche. Read the media release

Networking function

The next networking forum will be held on 27 November 2014.

Contributions / Press Club news

Please send any news, suggestions or information for the newsletter to Martin van Niekerk at the secretariat on


Latest issue
Read the October 2014 issue of Indaba, our monthly newsletter. Previous issues are also available

Welcome new members

Jaco Visser – Farmer's Weekly, Clive Mboyi – SABC, Lebogang Selibi – National Credit Regulator, Ananias Ndlovu – North West News Online, Zintombi Nicolite – student.

Our sponsors
Contact information
Join us on social media